Watching the original Godzilla in class was a lot like looking at baby pictures of one of your close friends you hardly recognised them and it was kind of weird and awkward but you knew it was them.

Don’t get me wrong I enjoyed it but there was a sense of awkwardness after watching a movie that has evolved into a legend and then an icon for world cinema. Groundbreaking and revolutionary for its time my senses and tastes are separated by about 65 years worth of a generational gap. So the cinematic style took some getting used to it was a potent cocktail of the era, and of the Japanese culture. I couldn’t help but notice the extra attention to explaining Godzilla and the amount of backstory leading up to Godzilla while also allowing for little character development. The character development was either non existent or extremely fast the opposite to the methodical pace of explaining Godzilla. This made me wonder if this reflected the Japanese style of story telling which from my own experiences (read anime) tends to focus more on psychical conflict than romance (read Bleach, One Piece). The personal stories within the film were one dimensional or cliche, although its hard to call something a cliche from such an early period, thats where my mind went after being condition to modern day story telling.

But, the amazing thing about the movie despite the thing that I said it still worked, it was still an enjoyable film from a mixture of sentiment and nostalgia to the fact it was something different. It was still a well told story despite some things perceived as flaws through my eyes, but which were probably a result of my condition through contemporary media.

Later in the week I found out that the other tutorial class watched Ghost in a Shell, which made me glad to be in the first tutorial group because watching Godzilla offered a unique experience. Even though my own lecturer did not want to watch it twice in one day. To be fair once was probably enough.

